Choose or Lose | 365 to One


2015

God’s Grace

I pulled the curtain and stepped out of the cold shower on to the tile. My leg (oily from the lotion applied earlier in the day) slipped and I was heading – face first – [Oh God] into the tiled face basin sink. BUT for the Grace of God, I somehow steadied myself and avoided the impact or other injury. My phone showed 12:06 a.m. — what a way to welcome the New Year! What a way for God to remind me that He had not only allowed me to enter the new year … but He was also STILL with me!

It was a good opportunity as well to spend some time with Him. I don’t know about you, but God has a way of showing up when I’m most vulnerable — naked in the bathroom! I thanked Him for His mercies (visions of the possible catastrophe from the slip and fall were uppermost in my mind); and I thanked Him for favour and His Grace — those unmerited gifts that He provides daily [some of which I neither recognize nor remember to thank Him for]. I praised Him for His goodness and thanked Him for bringing me into another year; for the love of my family and partner (and her family); for my children; for employment and for life! And, not being one for New Year’s resolutions, I simply prayed that this year – 2015 – I would have a closer walk with Him and regain lost ground in our relationship.

I want to think that, if He can save me 6 minutes into the new year … I figure He can take me all the way through it – and beyond!

Moving Time Stands Still

Just days before, my partner’s family had their – postponed – Christmas (Sunday) dinner. Officially, we’ve been together about 6 years. As the family members arrived, I was amazed at how different the ‘children’ looked. Little ones that I had met some 6 or 7 years ago, were now young teenagers and the pièce de résistance was that … one that I had dubbed “Little Miss” was now wearing a training bra!

Ouch – where did the time go? How did they get so big? And – as far as I knew – I hadn’t changed … I was still the same YOUNG, handsome fellow I was back then. Ok, Ok — I was still the same “young” fellow … [Will anyone allow me to get away with – at least – that?]

The obvious dichotomy aside; I marvelled too at the fact that – just a couple weeks ago (well – maybe a month – it can’t be longer than that) I had started to draft a Blog entry to welcome 2014. I never did finish it – always putting it off – and now … it’s 2015.

The two scenarios remind us – well, at least me – that the time will pass anyways! Whether we put it to good use or not; whether we pursue our goals/dreams or not; and whether we recognize that it’s passing or not – the time … will pass!

The Challenge

Aye, but what is the link between God’s Grace and passing time? Just this … we’re each allotted a set amount of time on this earth … after which “it is appointed unto men once to die” [Hebrews 9:27 KJV]. It seems to me that (1) God’s Grace keeps us until that appointed time, and (2) We have a choice regarding HOW we will use the time in between. We can waste it on bigotry and selfishness; or we can use it to leave a legacy that will see a world that is better off because we had lived.

And there’s no better time than the dawning of a new year to make such a choice … With 365 days – one person at a time – we CAN make a difference!

The Power of the Mind

By the way, a friend recently scoffed at the expressed grand new year’s resolutions of so many on a popular social media site. She queried the difference between 11:59 p.m. on December 31st and 12:01 a.m. on January 1st. I glibly commented that “the mind is a powerful thing”. But the statement was/is profound! Through different spheres the concept recurs and explodes! The Bible, in Romans 12:2 [KJV], says: “be … transformed by the renewing of your mind“. The 16th and famous United States President, Abraham Lincoln, is quoted as saying: “Your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other.” And the South African anti-apartheid activist, Steve Biko, in the movie Cry Freedom expounded: “Once you change the way people think, things will never be the same!”

In short – what you think and act on … matters!

Happy 2015

As we usher in the new year, I want to repeat my oft-quoted annual phrase to friends and family during this period:

“I wish you sunshine on your path and storms to season your journey. I wish you peace – in the world in which you live and in the smallest corner of the heart where truth is kept… More I cannot wish you, except perhaps love – to make all the rest worthwhile.” Robert A. Ward

I hope you have an amazing year and … Walk good, ’til next time …

About Counselor77

A pretty good listener; occasionally I actually have something worthwhile to say ... it may be on religion, politics, love, public affairs (you name it) ... let's talk - we CAN make a difference.
This entry was posted in Christianity & Faith, Current Affairs, General, Social Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

