I wish you more …


Prayer – Person Praying – Hands

My friend had an especially rough day (emotionally) today. She’s mentally and physically tired. And, like me, she’s single – so it gets especially lonely around this time of the year.

There were some other hiccups during the year for her too … one major one was her car (that was a huge means of personal and business convenience) being stolen. And, of course, she’s still grieving from a relatively recent breakup. Well, actually, she doesn’t recognize that last one – but, she is!

My last WhatsApp message to her just now was:

She smiled, well – she said she did – and I genuinely hope it helped to cheer her spirit.

But, as I reminisced, it got me thinking.

This year – 2021 – has been a rough year for many. Heavens, for many, theses past 21 months (since March 2020 – with the advent of Covid 19 – at least for Jamaica) have been excruciating!!!!

Many have faced the death of loved ones – made even worse by the inability to grieve in the usual manner. Many – like me – have lost their jobs. Many face financial crises, broken relationships, domestic violence and the list of the myriad of extra-ordinary catastrophes goes on.

Many are suffering from stress related anxieties of which they’re not even aware. Too many are just existing from day to day – trying to cope; trying to make the ends meet. Living without hope; but living – maybe because it’s better than dying.

My message to my friend was also to myself … and maybe to you too. Yes, today may have been rough – possibly yesterday too. And, yes, we are going to have (possibly) a lot more before our time comes to go ‘home’.

But, you know what … there really are going to be some amazing days too mixed in with it all. And, I read somewhere that – we don’t remember days … we remember moments.

So, as we traverse through this thing we call life … I want to encourage us to grab a hold of those amazing moments, to cherish them and the people in our lives. And then, maybe – just maybe – if, when those bad days come, we could just gather all the good moments and – somehow – weigh them. We might find that, in the balance, things may not be so bad after all.

Like tomorrow will be a bad day for my sister. It’s the fourth month since the death of her husband of 20 years.

Me, I still struggle with the loss of a relationship – perhaps more stuck in the past … we have a tendency to romanticize the past (but, that’s for another discussion).

And, I am no where near where I want to be right now. I have encountered so many major losses this year that I can hardly imagine how I’m still here – but, for the Grace of God.

Yet, how do I cope — I count my blessings! Yup, I wake up each morning and I say: “Thank you God for another day – another opportunity to be used by you to bless someone.” And I thank Him for the roof over my head; food to eat; clothes to wear; a family that loves me; an old car that works; and a few friends who care enough to reach out … and yes, the list goes on.

I (try to … because it doesn’t always work) focus on the positive and put the negative in perspective.

Like now, it’s almost Christmas … and many are going to be facing unusual empty chairs at the dinner table. You may not be able to afford the gifts that you’re accustomed to buying. The bills are past due and more are coming. The road ahead looks gloomy and you can’t see a way out …

Yet, in the midst of all that – as you struggle and fight to cope – to make sense of it all and still keep your sanity … this is the real gist of my message this evening: I wish you more moments of gratitude and appreciation for the things that God has blessed you with … that you still have … and eyes and hearts, indeed to see them … so that you might realize that – in the midst of it all – there’s still hope and that you’re still blessed.

It ain’t over till it’s over – remember that! Keep fighting! Keep hoping! And maybe, just maybe … tomorrow will be a better day, with new opportunities and new breakthroughs and new testimonies!

Walk good, ’til next time …

About Counselor77

A pretty good listener; occasionally I actually have something worthwhile to say ... it may be on religion, politics, love, public affairs (you name it) ... let's talk - we CAN make a difference.
This entry was posted in Christianity & Faith, Current Affairs, General, Social Commentary, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I wish you more …

  1. Friend says:

    Am gonna squeeze you ever so softly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment